Thursday, November 16, 2006

The Beatles "Love"

The Beatles are releasing a new album...sort of. It's a soundtrack to the newly opened Cirque Du Soliel production called "Love" that apparently is a "must see" if you go to Las Vegas, especially since Siegfried and Roy are out of commission.

Anyway, a friend of mine went to a preview showing some time back and said "Oh Mark, you HAVE to go! If you are a Beatles fan of any sort, you MUST GO!" I took his comments well, and so far, have not seen the show. Nor do I really have any intentions to see it. If I happen to be in Vegas, I would probably go, but I'm not, and I'm not making plans to go just to see this show.

I'm sure it's a well done performance. Some people quibble about how tacky this is and Beatles surely would be rolling in their graves. Well, I can't speak for John Lennon, but this was one of the last projects that the late George Harrison was organizing, because he was such a huge fan of Cirque.

Anyway, the upcoming CD that's to be released on November 21, is much more accessible to me at this time. Nothing much worth noting if you have a complete Beatles collection like I do, but I'll probably purchase it if I see it used somewhere as all of the tracks have been released frequently before. Sure, it's remastered by George Martin and his son, Giles, in the latest surround sound whoop-te-do format, but does it really matter? How sonically good do The Beatles have to sound anyway? Ok, ok, hold it down to a low roar, you rabid Beatlemaniacs! I said I was going to buy it!

It's not like another Anthology collection, it's the same old stuff with a new cover! I kind of wished that they'd release the long out of print "Love Songs" collection onto CD for the first time rather than this, but hey The Beatles control their own catalog (well mostly), so they call the shots and figured that this mish-mash of a compilation is better than the ones Capitol Records came up with in the late 70s.

Anyway, here's the track listings:

1. Because
2. Get Back
3. Glass Onion
4. Eleanor Rigby/Julia (Transition)
5. I Am The Walrus
6. I Want To Hold Your Hand
7. Drive My Car/The Word/What You're Doing
8. Gnik Nus
9. Something/Blue Jay Way (Transition)
10. Being For The Benefit of Mr. Kite!/I Want You (She's So Heavy)/Helter Skelter
11. Help!
12. Blackbird/Yesterday
13. Strawberry Fields Forever
14. Within You Without You/Tomorrow Never Knows
15. Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds
16. Octopus's Garden
17. Lady Madonna
18. Here Comes The Sun/The Inner Light (Transition)
19. Come Together/Dear Prudence/Cry Baby Cry (Transition)
20. Revolution
21. Back In The U.S.S.R.
22. While My Guitar Gently Weeps
23. A Day In The Life
24. Hey Jude
25. Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band (Reprise)
26. All You Need Is Love

Fun Ideas Productions - P. O. Box 2616 - Saratoga, CA 95070
Please click on my web sites:
Fun Ideas -
MySpace -
The Harveyville Fun Times! -
Richie Rich's Vault -
Mark's Rare Comics -
So Rare! Collectibles -
Food Shop -
Blog -
Protecto, the Little Robot -

No comments: